World Debut of New Songs from the Upcoming Thomas Dolby Album “A Map of the Floating City” + “The Singular Thomas Dolby”


Thomas Dolby is the guest DJ this week on the Wired Playlist Podcast (link launches iTunes). In this podcast, he offers a sneak peak at 2 1/2  songs from his first album of new material in 18 years – A Map of the Floating City.


In the podcast he debuts the songs “The Toad Lickers”, “Oceaneer”, and part of “To The Lifeboats” He’ll release the album as 3 downloadable EPs followed by a physical CD and full album release.

Interestingly, the podcast was broadcast from the wheelhouse of a restored 1930’s life
boat located off the coast of the North Sea (his new studio). The
podcast was powered by wind turbines. Visit the link to his blog at the
bottom of this post to learn more about this interesting studio space.

In other Thomas Dolby related news, he’s also just released The Singular Thomas Dolby. The press release describes this as:

This 2-disc CD and DVD (PAL) collection features all Thomas Dolby’s singles and videos. It is released in the UK on May 18th 2009 and is available worldwide as an import.

1-Urges (3.41)
2-Leipzig (3.52)
3-Europa And The Pirate Twins (3.19)
4-Airwaves (3.45)
5-Radio Silence (3.50)
6-Windpower (3.53)
7-She Blinded Me With Science (3.40)
8-One Of Our Submarines Is Missing (5.12)
9-Hyperactive (4.12)
10-Dissidents (edit) (3.52)
11-I Scare Myself (edit) (4.59)
12-Fieldwork (London Mix) (4.04) with Ryuichi Sakamoto
13-May The Cube Be With You (3.50)
14-Airhead (3.43)
15-Hot Sauce (3.18)
16-My Brain Is Like A Sieve (3.58) (Bill Bottrell single remix)
17-Close But No Cigar (4.08)
18-Silk Pyjamas (3.04)
19-I Love You Goodbye (4.34)

1- Europa & the Pirate Twins
3-Radio Silence
4-Windpower (Live)
5-She Blinded Me With Science (3.43)
6-One of Our Submarines Is Missing (Live)
9-I Scare Myself
10-Fieldwork (with Ryuichi Sakamoto) with Ryuichi Sakamoto
11-May The Cube Be With You
13-Hot Sauce
14-Close But No Cigar
15-Silk Pyjamas
16-I Love You Goodbye
Bonus tracks
17-Hyperactive (12” version)
18-Fieldwork (12” version) with Ryuichi Sakamoto
19-Hot Sauce (saucy version)


Mark Mosher

Subscribe if you’d like to receive posts via email:

Join 3,259 other followers


Hi, this is Mark Mosher. Welcome to my blog. I’m a synthesist, Composer, Producer, and Visualist living in Boulder CO. I’m also the founder of the Rocky Mountain Synth Meet and Synth Patrol.

I’ve been blogging wince 2005 and this blog is a mix of posts on artistic news as well as synth tech & technique posts under the category Modulate This!

Latest Singles

Subscribe & Discover

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.

Join 3,259 other followers


If you are enjoying my music and videos, or have found my blog posts and events to be time-saving, helpful, and inspiring consider offering artist by buying my music or making a donation.

2 responses to “World Debut of New Songs from the Upcoming Thomas Dolby Album “A Map of the Floating City” + “The Singular Thomas Dolby””

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog Categories:

Create a website or blog at