About Mark Mosher

Short Bio:

Mark Mosher is a Boulder-based synthesist who composes, produces, and performs original instrumental electronic music as a solo artists and with ensembles. He is also the founder of the Modulate This! synth blog (now in it’s 13th year) , the 740+member strong Rocky Mountain Synthesizer Meetup, and the Sonic Encounters Podcast. Learn more at http://NewEcho.com.

Full Bio:

Mark Mosher is a Boulder-based synthesist. He composes and improvises to create new music, sound, and visuals with synths, samplers, and computers. His live musical performances and fixed media works span the realms of electronic, electroacoustic, musique concrète, electronic tonalities, techno, experimental, and soundscape with a focus on cinematic narrative.

Mark performs in the Denver & Boulder area and at events across the country as both a solo artist and with The Carbon Dioxide Ensemble, (no) poem,  AI Winter, and The Denver Synth Drone Collective.
In 2017 he was named one of  “Twelve of Colorado’s Greatest Synthesizer Artists” by Westword Magazine. He is also known for his interactive visuals based on live camera input and projection mapping and was a runner up in Denver Westword Magazine’s Best Visuals for Experimental Music 2016. Select performances include:

  • University of Colorado Atlas Institute as a special guest of the Boulder Laptop Orchestra (College of Music)
  • Music convocation at Gates Concert Hall  at University of Denver for the Lamont School of Music
  • Grand opening of the University of Denver’s Performance Black Box
  • Galleria at the Denver Performing Art’s Complex as part of the Denver Open Doors city event
  • Mountain Oasis Festival Asheville as guest of Bob Moog Foundation, NC
  • Electro-Music Festival, NY
  •  Electro-Music Festival Asheville, NC
  • Pacific Northwest Synthfest, WA
  • Art Institute of Sunnyvale, CA
  • Georgia Tech Guthman Musical Instrument Competition, GA
  •  Midwest Electro-Music Experience, IN
  • Des Moines Social Club, IA
  • Special appearance at The Microsoft Store, CO
  • On-Air Live Broadcast CU Boulder Radio 1190

Mark gives back to the community through his synth tech & technique Modulate This! and by hosting the 700+ member strong Rocky Mountain Synthesizer Meetup (65+ events and counting).

When not creating and playing music and visuals – Mark enjoys travel, reading, and outdoor life in and around Boulder Colorado.

Check out Mark’s list of full credits in his CV here.

Continue reading “About Mark Mosher”

Sonic Encounters Podcast & Album Series

Sonic Encounters Podcast Cover v2b
Sonic Encounters: Improvisational soundscapes created by capturing, disassembling, reassembling, and shaping the sounds around us. Show notes are in the description section within each episode on Soundcloud. Subscribe to podcast in iTunes itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/sonic…pes/id1005123672, for with your favorite podcatcher feeds.soundcloud.com/users/soundclo…182/sounds.rss or follow on Soundcloud.


“Goosebumps and Deep Breaths…I’m trying to restrain myself in writing this review as it’d be easy to come off sounding a bit hyperbolic… But these rich soundscape “stories” sincerely do thrill my senses.

The concept for Sonic Encounters (so far, and in my interpretation) is this. You read a short text (sometimes the title is enough) on the premise of the “story” before listening. Then you listen to a purely sonic piece of field recording morphed with music, electronic manipulation, and performance, and you’re immediately transported via your own imagination’s 3D projection of his premise.

Mark’s become a consummate sound artist. He creates powerful imagery and elicits surprisingly keen emotional response from the listener without being heavy-handed. His economy and value in precision is proof of his skill.

My favorite story so far is “Metamorphosis Under the Chatham Light”. I get chills just thinking about it.

My very close second is “And What Do Trees Hear When the Wind Blows”. Read each premise before you listen. [Example notes from Metamorphosis Under the Chatham Light”] Or not. No matter, the pieces will creep into your consciousness and take up residence.”  – BlindFlyTheater.com


For those that are interested in having high-res digital downloads of Season 01 check out the album Sonic Encounters Volume 01.

Continue reading “Sonic Encounters Podcast & Album Series”